Everything that has a beginning has an end

All my little plans and schemes

 

I love the hopefulness of this song, the feeling for me that there is an openness to whatever may come.

I don’t know however, unlike the lyrics, exactly where my life will go.

It is one of Lennon’s most beautiful compositions and released after his untimely death.

(I so prefer this to the overproduced version on the Anthology recording.)

All my little plans and schemes
Lost like some forgotten dreams
Seems that all I really was doing
Was waiting for you

Just like little girls and boys
Playing with their little toys
Seems like all we really were doing
Was waiting for love

Don’t need to be alone
No need to be alone
It’s real love, yes it’s real
Yes it’s real love, it’s real

From this moment on I know
Exactly where my life will go
Seems like all I really was doing
Was waiting for love

Thought I’d been in love before
But in my heart, I wanted more
Seems like all I really was doing
Was waiting for you

Don’t need to be afraid
No need to be afraid
It’s real love, yes it’s real
Yes it’s real love, it’s real

6 responses

  1. each breath, a death!
    each breath, a fresh new moment 🙂

    Like

    June 1, 2014 at 12:52 am

  2. I have always loved John’s rawness. Love his first solo album and all the heart felt passion we had never heard before and still rarel hear in any artist. I truly love John’s music. Thanks for posting this version, which I had not heard before.

    Like

    June 1, 2014 at 1:47 am

    • His rawness yes. He seemed at times to just rip open his chest and dare the world to look in. Right or wrong he was fearless in that way.

      Like

      June 1, 2014 at 11:30 am

  3. Don

    Beautiful! I must say I also much prefer this version.

    Like

    June 1, 2014 at 10:08 am

    • Yes! The simplicity of just his voice and the piano adds to the poignancy of this song for me.

      Like

      June 1, 2014 at 11:32 am

Leave a Reply

