Everything that has a beginning has an end

A red sun came rolling down a grey sky

Art by Kirsti Ottem Langeland

Wedged between the masterpiece of ‘Hejira’ and her dive head first into the world of ‘Mingus’ came this continued exploration and experiment with theme, harmonics, rhythm, and lyricism. It didn’t hurt that she had a wizard accompany her into this double album by the name of Jaco Pastorius. He along with the other musicians helped propel and translate the genius coming through Joni Mitchell’s ‘Don Juan’s Reckless Daughter’, which remains one of her favorite albums for me. Listen to this 1st track (with headphones if you can, to hear all of the richness of her harmonies and the dancing bass of Pastorius) as it lays the groundwork for one of the themes of this 2 record set. It is as if swirling spirits hovering over the earth come crashing down and begin to play in some funky little town. (Perhaps a jazzy percussive version of the colder ‘Wings of Desire‘, Wim Wenders meditation story of an angel who falls in love with a circus performer)

 

 

Joni turns 70 this year and back on June 18 and 19 at the Luminato Festival, a tribute concert was held in her honor. She had not performed in public for quite some time due to illness. It was announced she would appear and read a poem set to music, accompanied by Herbie Hancock, but she surprised the audience by performing a couple of songs. Her illness has greatly reduced her vocal range and it must have been quite a courageous step for her to give it a go. As you can see in the clip below, she crosses her fingers as the 1st song begins but she pulls it off. Acknowledging the difficulty she was having early on, the audience’s enthusiastic cheer seemed to energize her. To me it is magic to see her up there still phrasing like the accomplished artist she still is, with lyrics that read like poetry (Pawn shops glitter like gold tooth caps in the grey decay). Reaching the 70 year mark in this life is still an accomplishment as one begins the apprenticeship for the great departure, as David Whyte puts it, but to me, though diminished by age and illness, the spark that comes through Joni is still there, still vibrant, still distinctly hers.

 

5 responses

  1. Oh, oh, oh!!! Thank you for this update on one of my very favorite people! Joni’s music and lyrics, along with her art and all she did for women in the music biz, have always inspired me to know that I can also be the person I am here to be. After reading here I tried to find out more about what she’s up to and found a story from a writer who recently interviewed Joni. The article ended with this quote from Joni, ““Not that I have an aversion to labels. I have an aversion to being mislabeled. Here’s a label I’d accept: I’m an individual. I’m someone who can’t follow, and doesn’t want to lead.”
    Thank you so much for this!
    P.S. Also love Jaco, a very tragic figure but what a master musician he was! I love the Don Juan’s… album but perhaps my fave is Hejira.

    Like

    September 2, 2013 at 2:42 pm

    • Wow that is a great quote! Can you send me the link? Yes I am in perfect agreement with you – Hejira is my favorite as well. The thing I miss about the transition to digital music is that we don’t have access to great album covers. The shot of her on the inside flap LP skating toward the camera (like a Black Crow) – that image has been burned into my memory from 197?
      Oh god, so much more I could say…she is a touchstone…

      Like

      September 2, 2013 at 3:15 pm

      • Yes, we could probably talk for hours about this wonderful artist!!! It fascinates me that she reunited with her daughter in later years and has spoken about her love of spending time with her grandchildren
        Here’s the link:
        http://www.cbc.ca/news/canada/story/2013/06/10/f-joni-mitchell-behind-the-scenes.html

        Like

        September 2, 2013 at 3:29 pm

      • This is great, thanks! I had tried to sit through the filmed interview a couple of days ago but found the interviewer insufferable. He wouldn’t let her answer the questions as he jumped in and tried to reemphasize some point HE was trying to make (or so it seemed to me)
        Anyway – It is nice to find another JM fan 🙂

        Like

        September 2, 2013 at 4:02 pm

      • Ahh, I would guess Joni would be miserable in an interview like that.
        Yes, this is a great connection to have discovered with you!

        Like

        September 2, 2013 at 4:12 pm

Leave a Reply

