Everything that has a beginning has an end

The dandelion is one member of your community of friends

The Dandelion has found my smile

” At the end of a retreat in California, a friend wrote this poem:

I have lost my smile,
but don’t worry.
The dandelion has it.

If you have lost your smile and yet are still capable of seeing that a dandelion is keeping it for you, the situation is not too bad. You still have enough mindfulness to see that the smile is there.

You only need to breathe consciously one or two times and you will recover your smile. The dandelion is one member of your community of friends. It is there, quite faithful, keeping your smile for you.

In fact, everything around you is keeping your smile for you.”

– Thich Nhat Hanh

While suffering a severe depression after the death of my father, these words from Thich Nhat Hanh became a lifeline of sorts. As I took my regular walks with Buffy (now departed too) I would encounter these little dots of sunshine. Thay’s words would echo forth as the darkness of my grief slowly began to lift with time. I painted this as a reminder to myself of the darkness and the light; the grief, the depression, and the non-depression that  eventually emerged.

One response

  1. joyful sunbursts freely scattered across our lawns 🙂

    Like

    June 20, 2013 at 5:23 pm

Leave a Reply

