Everything that has a beginning has an end

Looking for clues

When I was younger I used to drive to a dry river bed and take photos of the rock formations worn into strange shapes by the river. The shapes and textures fascinated me but I was never satisfied with how they looked. I discovered one day that if I looked at them upside down they would reveal bizarre and surreal worlds that seemed to exist on another planet or in a dream space.

When I was in college and not sure what direction to pursue or what to major in after failing miserably at my first choice, I discovered the on-campus movie theater. My visit to the theater each week became more important to me than my studies. My most vivid memories are of the first five minutes of Visconti’s ‘Death in Venice‘ with its haunting Mahler score and the fade from black to a fog shrouded boat. The other is seeing this

Leave a Reply

